VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Retroactivity

Rate this question

Bruno2

Question

In April of 2005, the Court of Appeals for Veteran's Affairs handed down a verdict in the case of Smith vs. Nicholson. In short Smith was allowed a disability rating of 10% for each ear rather than a combined 10% for both ears, for having service connected tinnitus. I have the same condition as well as bilateral nerve deafness. I have appealed to the VA for increased compensation based on the Smith precedent.

My question concerns retroactivity. I've been collecting this compensation since 1968. As the VA has wrongly applied the rule and I should prevail in my claim, that makes me feel I would be owed retractive payments back to the time when I first applied and was awarded compensation for this condition.

Is this a correct assumption or not.

Thank you for you advice and input. This is the first time I'm posting at this board so I'll be interested to see what feedback I get.

• Answers 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

Bruno welcome to Hadit. What you say makes sense and I hope that you get it. Would be a nice check going back that far.

• HadIt.com Elder

Bruno

In 2003 tha VA changed the regulation as a result of the case you are citing. As things now stand, VA is appealing that ruling, and will not pay anybody for the bilateral factor, until such time as they receive a negative ruling on their appeal (if it is negative).

Once the appeal is ruled on, then you be eligible for lots of back pay, unless of course the Government decides to save money by reversing the COVA decision. ( Which is not unknown). I am also waiting for that decision, only my claim only goes back to 2002.