Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Qtc Mental Health Apt

Rate this question

rocky78

Question

Good evening,

This is my first time writing a post. I am active duty Navy and already started my retirement process (19 years and 8 month in, 4 to go).

I had my first QTC appointment and I just wanted some feedback. I have been diagnosed with endometriosis, ulcerative colitis, IBS, migraines, plantar fasciitis, back and neck problems Among other things, but the appointment I just had was for a psychiatrist for depression and anxiety.

I went into the appointment and I had planned on telling the doctor all the stuff that I've been going through with the depression: not sleeping, no interest on anything but curling up in a ball in my couch when I get home, my mood swings, the horrible nightmares when I do get to sleep, the constant crying, my shame about been depressed and broken, my feeling of shame of not achieving a higher rank, the fact I felt I was treated differently the moment I got sick a few years back, how I can't go out and meet new people because i'm worried about the colitis and accidents, how I get nervous in rooms with locked doors etc.

The appointment unfortunately went more like this: The doctor started asking me questions and my eyes started getting teary, that transformed into uncontrollable crying and sobbing that went through the whole appointment.

I was able to answer his questions, but I was crying so bad the doctor kept saying "I can't understand your answer due to your crying" many times, I felt horrible and ashamed but I couldn't stop.

Towards the end the doctor kept asking "is there anything else you would like to tell me that contributes to your depression or something else that makes you depressed" but I just could not utter any sentences.