andrewdc

Question

• Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question

Assuming you got a written decision, that you dispute, yes, file a nod and try to refute their reasons and bases for decision.  

Source:  I dont have a caregiver, so Im relying upon more general benefit informaiton, when ILP is denied, you can appeal that, and you can appeal other unfavorable decisions, not just comp and pension. 

If someone is in the caregiver program, and have appealed it, then they should speak up.  They know more than I do.   

Thanks for the invite Broncovet!

I already know that there was no proper "Statement Of The Case" included in the written decision from the Vetrans Health Administration, (VHA) informing you of the reasons and basis of the decision and a viable reason that you did not qualify. The VHA, unlike the DVA, is not required to give you a Statement Of The Case.

I am a R-2 rated veteran and was denied level 2 PCAFC caregiver benefits through six appeals. You have options on your appeals process that were not available to me at the time. You can climb up the appeal steps, one at a time in any order that you choose, Or you can skip some, or all, and go straight to the top. Your choice. Your options are as follows.

#1 appeal the VHA decision through the VAMC Patient Advocate. You get two appeals that will be adjudicated before the same VHA people who just denied you and you can expect to be denied on both of those appeals.

#2 you can file a VA form 20-0996 for a Higher Level Revue (HLR) appeal. In submitting a HLR, you cannot submit additional evidence and once again, the decision is up to the VHA, the same people who have already tossed you under the bus.

#3 You can file a VA form 20-0995, Decision Revue Request, Supplimental Claim. You can submit additional evidence but once again, the same VHA people who have been denying you get to shoot you down again.