Read VA Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Separation pay

Rate this question

Tucker

Question

Question for the forum, I’ve been receiving VA compensation for about 3 years after retiring 20 years active/reserve. I did 10 years active got out on HYT in 1996 came back in 2009 as a reservist and did more active than reserve time so I retired on active duty. After my first 10 years I was involuntary separated due to HYT and received a $16,000 separation pay. I received my determination yesterday on my rate increase and received 100% P@T but in the package it mentioned the 16,000 separation pay from 1996 and they will be with holding benefits. So with that does it mean I won’t receive any compensation till the 16,000 is payed back or will I get time to prepare or will they take a percentage of my benefits. Unfortunately I had to resign from my job 2 weeks ago due to my disabilities and our only income is my retirement pay and va compensation so this will put us in a very tough situation financially. If anyone has any insight or guidance it would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

• Answers 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

Here’s more than you want to know. I can’t explain it, though, I don’t work in finance or pension mgt. 

https://www.benefits.va.gov/warms/docs/admin21/m21_1/mr/part3/subptv/ch04/m21-1mriii_v_4_secb.doc#_c.__Determining

The Earth is degenerating these days. Bribery and corruption abound.Children no longer mind their parents, every man wants to write a book,and it is evident that the end of the world is fast approaching. --17 different possible sources, all lacking verifiable attribution.

B.S. Doane College, Mgt Info Systems/Systems Analysis 2008

M.S.Ed. Purdue University, Instructional Development and Technology, Feb. 2021