Read VA Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

ADDED BENEFITS??

Rate this question

W.R. SAHA

Question

I'm a 2 tour Vietnam Vet (68-70) and have been T & P drawing 100% VA disability pay for 23 years, PTSD. 

I was just diagnosed with high grade bladder cancer at VA this past week.  I had the bladder tumor removed a few days ago.  Next week I start a once a week for 6 weeks VA hospital medical treatment to keep the cancer in remission.  i have read that bladder cancer and being a Vietnam Vet that this is service connected due to Agent Orange and is considered a 100% rated disability. 
Because I am already T & P can I gain anything additional filing with VA for this bladder cancer issue?? D.A.V. says I have nothing to gain.  What do you say?? If I DO have something to gain please indicate some VA reference manual/page. Thanks.

6 answers to this question

Since you are already 100% P&T for many years then if you receive one or more additional rating adding up to at least 60% for a single or combined disabilities then you will automatically qualify for additional SMC-S monthly rating that pays well over $300.00.  The additional rating or ratings would have to be separate from your now existing disabilities.  In other words different body parts or conditions such as GERD being separate from PTSD and Sleep Apnea and different from/than heart disease.

I believe your VSO may be wrong in this and others can provide you with more info and the relevant 38 CFR regulations and 38 U.S. Code.

I am sorry for your cancer diagnosis as I am also a Nam vet with AO heart disease. Good luck.

My comment is not legal advice as I am not a lawyer, paralegal or VSO.combinededitedcroppedperkins507thDustoffmedevacUH-1Hrescuehoist.jpg.66e9e75bebf35a15ff490302ec523268.jpg