VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Effective Date for SMC S?

Rate this question

jdman

Question

I was told by my DAV Rep that my claim for Major Depression increased to 100% and I qualify for SMC S Homebound status. When is the effective date of this? When the claim was filed or when the condition worsened to award me 100%. 

• Answers 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Posted Images

NORMALLY is the later of the two dates that is claim file date or date condition worsened. 

My comment is not legal advice as I am not a lawyer, paralegal or VSO.

combinededitedcroppedperkins507thDustoffmedevacUH-1Hrescuehoist.jpg.66e9e75bebf35a15ff490302ec523268.jpg

Edited by Dustoff1970

4 hours ago, Dustoff1970 said:

NORMALLY is the later of the two dates that is claim file date or date condition worsened. 

Actually, SMC payments are based on the record and is the opposite and is as soon as the veteran meet the criteria. Your post is correct about normal effective dates, but SMC payments fall in a different category, and they are not considered normal effective date payments.  

See Buie v. Shinseki.  

Edited by pacmanx1

Regular claims:  YOur effective date is the later of the claim date or facts found, with some exceptions.

SMC:  Since its always inferred, you should not have to file a claim for smc (even tho we often do).  Therefore, the 

claim date (date filed) does not limit  the effective date for smc.  

However, consider the following example:  

You file for benefits on June 1, 2002, and are awarded 40 percent.  You file for an increase AND file for sleep apnea on June 1, 2014.