Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Alj Hearing

Rate this question

Lynda

Question

I may have to attend an ALJ Hearing in the near future (I have been turned down twice for SSDI), and I am using Allsup's services. I am service-connected 70%/30%IU P & T for PTSD. I have a Master's Degree & 2 BA degrees. I mention this because those facts were used in the past to deny my SSDI claim. SSA said that although I couldn't do the type of work I did several years ago, I could do 'less complicated' work... The last job that I was fired from required an HS degree, and paid $10 an hour, and I couldn't keep that one either. My problems are an inability to focus and/or concentrate, follow directions, and I also had absenntee problems as well. I am 54 years old. I was fired from my last job in December of 2006, and haven't worked since. Prior to that I held temp jobs for three years, and was fired from a few of those before finding the final job I had - I held it for about it a year and was nearly fired several times for the mistakes that I made. I have applied several times at fast food outlets, grocery stores, etc, when I didn't have a temp job and was never even interviewed for jobs.

Anyway... I'm not sure what questions the judge would ask during a hearing... I don't "look" disabled, but unfortunately, my past emplyment experience is that I fail to catch mistakes in my work that my supervisors grow tired of correcting, and that just a few minutes after receiving a list of instructions or projects, I get confused about the order of procedures, the priority to give each task, or any detailed instructions on how to complete a task. I would go back to ask for clarification, and soon, my bosses thought I shouldn't be having to ask, so I was let go... very frustrating, and I think hard to describe. Any suggestions?