Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (als)

Rate this question

ZenArcher

Question

I am a Gulf War vet '92 - '00 with service in the Gulf for the Operation Southern Watch, Deliberate Force, Allied Force and Noble Anvil. I was diagnosed with ALS '07 at the ripe old age of 38. I do not have documented symptoms in my medical records but have supplied personal testimony, a corroborating buddy letter, letter from my wife and sister in law stating that I had cramping, twitching and fasciculations during the last two years of active duty service. I also provided a letter from the Director of Neurology and head of the ALS clinic in Hershey stating that the symptoms "most likely represent the initial stage of the illness."

I have also included multiple studies and exposures showing increased risk of developing ALS and studies showing that the time from disease onset to diagnosis can exceed 10 years. I then provided appeals cases showing connection with contradictory symptoms, no symptoms, exposure to unknown substance and diagnosis after 35 years.

I received my denail which states, "In the absence of evidence to show that this condition was incurred in service or aggravated by service or manifest to a degree of 10 percent or more within one year of discharge from service, service connection is not established." The did not address I am working with the PVA but in all honesty they have done little more than act as a mail courier to date. I have open files with both my congressman and senator as well as letters of inquiry from the White House.