Read VA Disability Claims Articles
Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• tbirds-va-claims-struggle (1).png

• 01-2024-stay-online-donate-banner.png

Louisiana Varo

Rate this question

Dennis

Question

I am a veteran from Louisiana and new to this board . I submitted a NOD last May to the Louisiana VARO. I understand Katrina kept them out of their office and they recently reopened in Gretna.

My question is in two parts. How long should it take for a DRO to return a decision? Secondly, is there anything I should do to expedite the process or anybody I should be contacting for help?

I have read many of your posts and there seems to be alot of knowledgeable people here. Your comments are certainly appreciated.

Dennis

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

Dennis -welcome aboard-

Have you called the VA at 1-800-827-1000 to see if they got the NOD?

It always pays to check-

Anything at all that you can send them as evidence will help get closer to your decision-

In the denial letter that prompted your NOD they gave specific reasons for the denial and this is what your evidence has to challenge.

If you tell us a little more -like why they denied and for what condition-maybe we could help more-

Hi Dennis, we're in Louisiana, too. If you pose your question through the VA's Inquiry System on their website, James Fowler, the Service Center Manager in Gretna, will answer you. I've found his answers totally unsatisfactory, but at least he answered. You may have more luck. We're getting Congressional help, hopefully, after three tries with no resolution to our problem.

If you call the 1-800 number, you'll probably get the Muskogee OK VARO. Gretna isn't accepting calls yet, at least that's what we were recently told.

Good luck to you.