Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

What Can I Do

Rate this question

hellontracks

Question

I was just fired from my job last Monday. In the letter it stated it was because of my ptsd.

I am a mechanic. I understand my job requires me to be around loud noises. The other day my bosses 28 year old son blew an air horn six inches from my head to see me jump. I stated to never *ucking do it again. Well two days later they fired me. The letter stated that i was violent and a safety concern to other employees.

The thing that gets me is they knew i had ptsd when they hired me. That did what he did to see me jump. Now i am without a job. Is this legal?

• Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

You should be able to draw unemployment. Personally, I'd have a good friend find the kid alone and wail the piss outta him and I'm generally a non-violent person. jmo A lawsuit may depend on the size of the company and whether they are required to follow the Americans w/disabilities act. You could file a discrimination claim and maybe win your job back, and/or a settlement. jmo

pr

Edited by Philip Rogers

“Is this legal? “ Not if the employer falls under the ADA.

“In the letter it stated it was because of my ptsd. “

Keep that baby, it is GOLDEN. If they come under the ADA.

The emploer's defense will be that you created a 'hostile environment”. That can be overcome with evidence.

Are you in touch with anyone who is still emploed there? You might need witness statements for the air horn situation.

This is dejavu to what a ADA employer tried to do to my husband many years ago.....

Although the ADA officially is 23 old as of this July, it didn't become 'law' until January 1992.