Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ibs Presumptive And Ao Presumptive

Rate this question

kevin4998

Question

I am a gulf war vet...

I have one documented visit to medical after the gulf war for IBS.

I was given over the counter meds at this visit.

got out of service in 97

every since that visit I have taken OC meds for this issue, since not much else can be done other than watching what I eat.

I have seen private docs for this issue getting out of service. Not very often but I do have paper work from docs stating so

I submitted this documentation along with a claim for IBS to the VA

I was denied

I thought IBS was a presumptive, so I did not even think that this would be an issue for being a denial.

I took my awards letter (I had other claims in that did go thru) to my VOF office that some how ended up as the go between (still trying to figure that out, how they became my coordinator.. as I originally went too a DAV's office to file my claim).

Anyway the officer their told me that IBS was NOT a presumptive.. not like Agent Orange.

I tried to explain that everything I have read stated that IBS was a presumptive. All he would say is that its not the same as Agent Orange.

This is got me really confused, because this guy is telling me basically that their is two different definitions of presumptive concerning IBS and Agent Orange.

Can some one please explain to me what the difference is?

I am not asking to know the differences between AO and IBS, obviously I know the difference of the two.. the wording or a link explaining the differences in "presumptive" is what I am looking for.

Thanks!

Sincerely

Kevin

• Answers 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question