Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Do I Have Chance?

Rate this question

bojack

Question

hi, former USMC Sergeant (0331)

I have done two deployments to Iraq (19 months total and one pump to Philippine and Okinawa for jungle survivial training).

According to VA

I have following conditions:

Impressions

Evaluation for TBI

Traumatic brain injury with brief loss of consciousness (4x)

Late effect of intracranial injury wihtout skull fracture

mild cognitive impairment

chronic post traumatic headache

sleep disturbance

visuospatial deficits

light sensitivity

tinnitus

PTSD

dizziness/lightheadedness

lumbosacral pain

cervical pain

arthralgia shoulder, knee, ankel/foot, and wrist/hand

I am not too sure what to think because this is my very first time filing for claim and I have full time job so I am not sure if that is going to effect me or not.

Thank you very much for your help and your time.

My calim 03/2014

Estimate completition date 11/2014 to 05/2015

• Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Oh yeah, since it has been over 5 years since I got out from the service. I have been paying everything out of my pocket right now. It is getting very expensive (threapy programs and etc..)

All of your conditions will need a nexus ( a link) to your service.

Do you have a copy of your SMRs? and your private treatment records?

VA will need them as well at some point.

What triggered these "Impressions" listed by the VA? The claim itself?

I dont see any problems with getting a SC PTSD rating, if you get a PTSD diagnosis from a VA MH professional,

or even any problems with a TBI rating, but it is hard to guess at this point.

Some of these conditions are possibly secondary to a main condition.

What I mean is the physical problems might be secondary to the TBI incident.

We have a wealth of info here on PTSD, TBI, etc....

Do you have a vet rep?