Read VA Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Why the US Military thought Agent Orange was Safe

Rate this question

KCAC

Question

I am a Vietnam Vet, and have been angry for decades that the Military so freely used very toxic Herbicides not only as a weapon but also inside our bases for vegetation control with no safeguards or warnings to us at the time.  I recently ran across this report "A Review of the Herbicide Program in South Vietnam" written by the Sceintific Advisory Group in 1968 which appears to be the main Science Group advising the US and US Military at the time.  This declassified report was written for the Navy and states how safe these herbicides were.  Here is an example of a paragraph.  If nothing else, it makes me feel somewhat better about our military leaders at the time.  They were reading these reports, thus seeing no reason NOT to use the stuff around the US troops.

2. It should be emphasized that these chemicals are non-toxic, noncorrosive (except for Blue which is slightly corrosive in nature), and generally not harmful to any fnrm of human or animal life. The aircrews are exposed to it daily and, in the U. S., defoliants of this type are used on over 400 million acres annually. Defoliants, in general, have been used for the past 20 years with,,Lt ill effects and ARVN troops have been exposed to it for the past few yeaz: without harm. Defoliants are nonpoisonous and food or water may be consumed without fear of resulting effects. Reportably, some RANCH HAND personnel have actually ingested some of the agents during demonstrations to show that there is no danger. The spray does not poison the soil, which may be replanted after irrigation or replowing.

Link:

http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/tr/fulltext/u2/779797.pdf  

Edited by KCAC
correction

6 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder