Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Can I claim SC for Tinnitus

Rate this question

silverdollar22

Question

I guess I’ve just gotten so used to the ringing in my ear that it didn’t occur to me to even think about a claim for it. I did some research from the first time I claimed hearing loss and ringing in my ears back in 98. Of course I was denied for hearing loss but my Decision letter says ( the veteran reports that occasional mild bilateral ringing Tinnitus has remained stable for many years). Well the ringing is constant now and I never thought of a claim for it until I read this in my letter. My question is, is this enough evidence to start a claim for Tinnitus or just forget about it? I am a combat veteran and did work around 5k and 10k generators In my MOS. 

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Posted Images

• HadIt.com Elder

if you filed the hearing loss claim back in 98 and was S.C. at 0% and denied compensation but failed to file a claim for tinnitus?   they will not automatically give you the tinnitus claim.

you should file a claim for tinnitus its only 10% for both ears. but i would certainly ask them to give you the EED back to the 1998 date  if it was mention in your denied loss of hearing claim?   

Unfortunately they usually go by the date you filed for the condition.

File for tinnitus  you need an Audiology report that you have the ringing in your head known as Tittuits.and is likey as not the cause of your noise induced hearing loss...remember you can have  NOISE INDUCED BILATERAL  hearing loss but if it don't meet the VA Criteria for hearing loss  its usually denied  or S.C. AT  0%

BUT STILL GET AWARDED THE TINNITUS. 10% Both ears....