VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

SMC (R1) EXAM: IS SMC (R1) A PHYSICAL EXAM OR VERBAL?

Rate this question

cherry picker

Question

All,

Does anyone know if the SMC (R1) exam is a physical exam (ROM DEGREES) or is it an INTERVIEW or combined?

The thing that is confusing me is that according to the VA, this SMC (R1) exam is scheduled for 4 hours?

I was told that a form 21-2680 is going to be used by the VA medical provider?

I would like to prepare myself for the type of examination (verbal or physical or both).

CP

3 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

The examiner will be asking you question off the 21-2680 about House Bound or Aid an Attendance  to see what you qualify for ? the correct  SMC's

Well I am a R1 veteran, my rating was given to me by a VA rater. I wrote to the va secretary and was called by the rater and he determined at te time I should be rated at the R1 level. I have loss of use of my lower extremities which was at 100% and then I was given a suprapubic cathator which is another 100% rating. So thats how I was put in the r1 rating. I can only guess that an r1 exam would include both physical and regular questions for you unless you have any qualifying conditions already in your medical records. Good luck!