VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

I am an IT Pro with over 30 years experience

Rattler

• Community Owner

I am an IT Pro with over 30 years experience. I can give you advice on mot computer related issues.  If you have forgot a password have hard drive problems etc. Try Hiren’s BootCD PE. Hiren’s BootCD PE

This Software will get you passed a lost password and fix most problems.

Thanks for that.  I have not personally tried this..it likely will work.  

I used to use Knoppix (a version of Linux) that boots without loading an operating system on the disk and lets you read stuff in plain text.  The problem is that not all computers now a days have CD/DVD drives.  Im sure this knoppix could be loaded to a thumb (jump) drive also.  Many or most Linux versions run on the cd/dvd drive without loading the operating system.  

If I was locked out of a computer, I insert a Knoppix cd/dvd, copy the applicable user files, then reload the operating system with another Linux, probably Linux Mint.  

While this does take some time, it saves time in the long run because Linux just does not get the hackers like "hacker magnet" Windows does.  You can read about, and download one of a hundred or so Free Linux operating systems here. https://distrowatch.com/

In a nutshell, Linux is an operating system written by Linus Torvalds and other open source software people.  Open source means its free to the public, no license like Windows is required.