Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

SSDI - Reconsideration Phase

Rate this question

Inquiry318

Question

Hi, I’m going through the appeal/reconsideration process now (filed 8/23/23) on step 3 of 5 as I was denied on my initial filing in which I filled 9/16/2022). Just to give you a brief medical background, I have depression, PTSD, anxiety, insomnia, hypersomnia, sleep apnea w/CPAP, migraines, headaches, tinnitus, cubital tunnel syndrome in both arms, and I am going through the process now with my Orthopedic doctor to diagnose cervical spine and neck pain and stiffness. I am a disabled veteran rated at 90% currently going through the process of being rated at 100%. It looks like I will be going the TDIU (Total Disability Individual Unemployability) route as I have not worked F/T since 9/2022. I only recently picked up roughly 15 hours per week as I became strapped for money and needed income to help out with bills. I do have legal representation as well. With the appeal/reconsideration I was able to submit a personal appeal letter I typed and documentation from one of my Psychiatrist citing PSTD diagnoses, mental fitness report, an appeal letter from her on my behalf as well. What are your thoughts on just this information I have shared with you this far of my chances of being approved at this stage?

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

Welcome to hadit.  

Social Security and VA have some differences, but you have the right idea in apply for and appealing both.  

In reference to tdiu "its not enough" to "just" be not working.  To get tdiu, you have to demonstrate that "you are UNABLE to obtain and maintain SGE due to sc conditions".