Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Va Claim Developmental Phase

Rate this question

CShock

Question

Hello,

I’m new to Hadit and this is my first post. I was feeling pretty good about getting what I felt was a jump start on my C&P claiming by visiting a VSO 6 months prior to my effective retirement date of 28 Feb 11, meeting all my appts, providing info and completing my exam the first week on Nov. However after reading several post about the length of time to receive an award, I must say the wind has been taken out of my proverbial sail. I thought by filling under quick start/BBD that I could expect the process to run smoothly and “as advertised” I’m sure that elicits a chuckle from all who will read this.

So now for my question/concern, on 1 Mar I logged on to the ebenefits website and noticed that my claim was still in the development phase with a date of 1 Mar 11. This is quite discouraging since I visited the VSO office on 13 Oct and completed my exam the first week of Nov. Should I be concerned about the 1 March date or is this typical since I my last day of active duty was 28 Feb?

Additionally before ending my time active duty, I completed a sleep study and was diagnosed with sleep apnea and recommended for CPAP. I think I will wait until my initial results and then submit my paperwork for the sleep apnea. Thoughts?

Lastly my contentions are the following, which I don’t feel are a lot but possibly this is also a reason why I haven’t heard anything yet.

- hypertension (on meds)

- chronic bilateral knee pain (, osteoarthritis right knee, and 5 hyalgan injections. Left knee history of buckling with documented falls)

- s/p right surgery (rt knee ACL, PCL meniscus replacement and screws)

- scars and physical therapy (from rt. knee surgery 12 inches and eczema)

- chronic right wrist pain (frac)tured in 2010, some loss of motion

- right shin splints