VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ibs And Diverticulitis

Rate this question

bergin c/o

Question

i am a gulf war veteran and recently had a foot of colon remove do to diverticulitis, my question is i had filled a claim for ibs that was denied do to lake of evidence . i had a hard time with my doctors once i told them i had filled a claim with the va . it changed from ibs to you know that most of america has stomach issues we can`t support the claim. anyway .haveing the diverticulitis does that give me enough to reopen the claim

• Answers 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Bergin, go over to the IMO section of this forum and read some of the topics. a few very expensive very good doctors are talked about in particular Dr. Bash. He will cost a fortune, but if your disabilities are service connected he will tie them together and write an IMO that ties the things together in a tight and neat package.

Berta and several others have posted about him and utilized his services. I believe his opinion would be considered new evidence and enough to open the claim back open, especially if he ties the IBS>diverticulities and other issues you are having together.

Edited by scscrewed

you are a gulf war vet. if you served in SW asia and you have a diagnosis of ibs then it is service connected. That's the law.

If you have a diagnosis of divierticulitis then you will need an IMO linking the current condition to service.