Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

How to determine the status of my claim

Rate this question

namvet66

Question

My name is Gregory John Kleven (Not Jr. as on my VA medical ID) and I am a veteran currently rated at 90 disabled. In August of 2016 I asked VVA vet case worker to help me file a claim for 100% disability. He recommended that I file a claim asking for 100% disability based on "100% unemployable". So that is what we did. It's now been almost two years and I have no idea as to the status of my claim. I did all the required medical tests that the VA wanted yet they say I didn't cooperate with their medical investigation. I live in Viet Nam so I know it's hard for the VA to communicate overseas but they are also supposed to notify my vet rep in writing of any changes in my case. So even if I am out of the country my rep should have known. He tells me he doesn't know the status of my claim as he has heard nothing from the VA. My last contact with the VA was a document from them sent in September 2017. It was exactly the same as a document they had sent to me in June of 2017. They just changed some dates on it. The US Consulate here in Ho Chi Minh City have all the documents related to my medicals tests done here and the documents showing that they were sent and received by the VA. I would appreciate any help that you could provide and I can provide you with more information to prove to you who I am. If my case has been denied then I want to file a new claim.

• Answers 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Well, this is a problem, and part of this you can fix, but you may not be willing to do this:

Try these things in this order:

1.  Send an IRIS email, and ask the status of your claim.