VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Married filing jointly w/ IU spouse

Rate this question

MarineLCpl

Question

Hello everyone, 

I have a question regarding taxes. If this isn’t the correct place for this question, I have no issue with a mod moving the topic to the appropriate place. 

I’m seeking information on how to go about handling tax returns. My girlfriend and I have talked about marriage. She’s a registered nurse so that’s her income source. I’m a disabled vet, currently rated at 80% but receiving 100% IU. 

If we do get married and file jointly, would there be any negative consequences for either of us if she’s the only one with reported income? Meaning will this status affect her returns in a negative way versus if we were to file separately? 

I’m just concerned about her having to pay more or possibly receiving less because she’s the only one with earned income. 

I hope everyone is well. I’m just looking to be informed before going through with the marriage and can’t find definitive answers to these questions. 

God bless, 

MarineLCpl

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

Well, She/you would probably end up paying less because of reduced AGI and the allowances given to married vs. single. Ive been P and T and 100% for a few years now and we've always filed jointly, with just her income, because we still get the married allowances even if I wasn't making any income. 

CAS

18 minutes ago, MarineLCpl said:

Hello everyone, 

I have a question regarding taxes. If this isn’t the correct place for this question, I have no issue with a mod moving the topic to the appropriate place.