VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Allergic Rhinitis C&P VA Didn't Ask For An Opinion

Rate this question

SgtE5

Question

Had a C&P for allergic rhinitis. Doctor stated VA didn't ask for an opinion on service connection. Only wanted an exam to see how bad I am. Doctor stated that I would get the max. 50% blockage and polyps.

Why wouldn't the VA ask for an opinion? I am a Desert Shield/Storm vet but was diagnosed after the 10 year limit VA put on it.

This is due to the new Presumptive regulations or Gulf War vets that the doctor was aware of,  but I too am conerned about than ten year part if the regulations.We all should be.

Did you have rhinitus documented in your SMRs?

I hope the regulation is in this thread-

Mybe it is in the Burn Pit forum-

There are many recent BVA decision that contain the new presumptives and this granted claim holds the text of the regulation.

https://www.va.gov/vetapp21/Files8/21049783.txt

But the decision says this:

"As the Veteran's asthma manifested to a degree within 10 years of his qualifying period of service in Southwest Asia during the Persian Gulf War, and he is presumed to have been exposed to particulate matter based on his service in Southwest Asia during the Persian Gulf War, specifically Kuwait and Iraq from February to May 2003, entitlement to service connection for asthma is warranted on a presumptive basis. "

However this was the BVA's rationale on the ten years: