VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Read Current Posts 
Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Sc For Injury Caused By Meds And Or Other Sc Condition.

Rate this question

donews

Question

Thank you in advance for your time reading or replying.

Sorry if the Topic Title is confusing.

Here is the situation:

I am a Vietnam Vet that has a combined SC rating of 70%. I have SC DMII, Left and Right Leg Peripheral Neuropathy, Diabetic Retinopathy, Gastoparesis, and Several SC Heart Diseases.

In July of 2006 I was visiting my son in CT for the month. One day while watching my grandchidren play in the swimming pool, I got up from my chair to do something, and lost my footing due to my not being able to tell where my foot was. This happens frequently due to my severe bouts of dizziness and due to my Neuropathy in my feet and legs. I fell backwards and broke/fractured my right hip. I had to have surgery in which they placed metal pins in my hips. I had to spend 3 months in CT (2 Weeks in a hospital and 2 and 1/2 months in a nursing/rehab home) before I was well enough to travel back to my home in NC.

Since the injury, I have to now use a walker/cane/scooter to be able to get around. One of my legs is now actually so much shorter that then other that I need special shoes, the inserts can't make up the difference. I have chronic pain directly in the location of the surgery. I can not sleep for more than 2 hours before I wake up and need to move positions in bed to try to be somewhat comfortable. I can actually feel the screws/pins in my hip. They actually jut out and make it hard for my to have pressure on that hip.

Is this something I can get SC for?

I am dangling the thought process of: