Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Is It Me Or Is This Nuts.

Rate this question

hedgey

Question

A letter telling me to come in for a C & P to see if my condition of my original SC problem has improved.

So let me get this straight. I got rated SC in 1984 for chronic metatarsal pain in my left foot. Every couple of years I'd get called in for a review C & P - once they reduced it to 0% but I appealed and got the 10% reinstated. My last condition status evaluation was in 1993.

I've been favoring my left foot for 20+ years, and over the past few have developed problems with my right foot and knee. I finally filed a claim last spring, asking for increase & right foot & knee as secondaries. Got my C&P last month.

So now they're going to evaluate the condition I was rated for over 25 years ago? Why don't the twits just look at the report from the C&P last month?

I don't get it.

B)

• Answers 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• Content Curator/HadIt.com Elder

From what I read on this board:

SC status = protected after 10 years

SC percent = protected after 20 years

When they reduced your rating to 0%, and your appeal reinstated it, did they give you any retro pay to cover the time you were wrongly reduced to 0%? If so, then it looks like the 20 year rule should apply. Based on that logic, I would assume that the only possible change here would be a potential increase.

I did not know they could request a C&P out of the blue, unless you request one first. I'm still kind of new here...

Also, to me, it sounds like a pretty stupid idea for the VA to be allocating resources to go back and re-evaluate people when they have such a large number of outstanding claims.

Some of the elders here probably have more to say about your situation.