VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

New income verification system - IU recipient

Rate this question

MarineLCpl

Question

Hi all, hope everyone is well. I received a letter stating there will be a new way of collecting employment data from IU recipients instead of having us fill out the annual form. Not sure I quite understand how it all works, but, it got me thinking. 

I have been receiving IU for almost 10 years with no otherwise income. I recently did some paid freelance music-related tasks last year and I’m unsure of how to report it, and also, could it affect my IU status. It amounts to less than $1,500, and won’t be a sustained arrangement. 

I went on the IRS website and went through their “do I have to file taxes” survey. I documented this income on the survey and the results told me I didn’t have to file a tax return. 

Well, with the new VA check system, how will the be able to see the income if I don’t file? I’m not even sure they go through the IRS, the letter mentioned the SSA. I’ve always been very open and honest with the system, I just don’t quite know how to proceed. The annual form would have made it easy to report this, but now I’m not sure what to do. 

Any thoughts?

thanks, everyone

- MarineLCpl

Edited by MarineLCpl

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

I am not sure how to answer your question? .

The letter they sent you was it the VA or SSA? or IRS?

I been TDIU P&T  for the last 17 1/2 years and Always sent in the 21-4140 Employment Questioner.

I have never worked for $$$ but always filed a tax form.