VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

dental/extraction(s)

Rate this topic

I got a tooth extracted. Before the extraction I saw a note of the desk — didn’t know what it meant or even if it was related to me. This was an outside dentist that the VA has assigned me to — as I can no longer get to VA dental clinic due to driving-anxiety issues. Previous VA dentist sent me message: “this dentist will take care of your comprehensive dental needs.” I’m Class IV.

The note said: “No bone.”

since then I have looked all of the stuff up. And I realize now that I think it was quite cruel to not authorize “bone.” The dentist made a comment while doing this extraction, that again I didn’t understand until I studied up on it all later. And I didn’t ask the dentist any questions until a week after that. But during the extraction the dentist mumbled something about that they weren’t going to not put bone in there. A week later I went back for a check up and I asked the dentist why they didn’t “not put bone“ as the note said. First the dentist started explaining how it wasn’t going to bankrupt them. But then I started talking or asking questions and I said well did you do that because you thought it was “unethical“ not to? The dentist shook their head and said, “well, yes.”

obviously the dentist didn’t just do it for the heck of it.

since learning all of the stuff now I realize that three other teeth that the VA pulled there was never any bone grafting. And now I know about this melting jaw and now I know about how much bone is missing and how fast it goes. If you haven’t researched the stuff you should because it happens fast.