VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

To give up US citizenship.... fallout?

Right then,

to get a wee personal here...  I was born in the US, but never really lived there.  I lived in Scotland from age 4 until I went off to uni at 18.  I attended Southwest Texas State, which is now called Texas State.  I joined CID after I graduated and was posted in Germany from 1998 through 2009, when I retired.  I've been here 33 years.  Long time.

I have been giving it thought over the years.  I'm 57 and will most like die here.  I have no family in the US and my children live here as well. 

I could easily contact the VA, DFAS, Tricare, etc., to understand what happens if I became German.  I would need to inquire in written from to have the proper responses written.  But once that door's been opened, there is no turning back.

So, to ask the hive mind:  Does anyone have knowledge in this?  Would I loose my benefits?  I believe I would be able to keep my retire pay, but VA and Tricare?  I don't know.

Reasons:  Well, they are many.  I have to file two income tax returns each year and the US Government gets to take a portion.  I live here and cannot vote.  There are certain things I cannot do so long as I remain a US citizen.  I am definitely not anti-US, so please do not go there.  I had a grand job for 21 years and enjoyed not only serving the US but the friends I made.  Although I feel loyalty to Scotland and the UK, I am and will remain loyal to the US.  Shite, to a degree I owe a wee loyalty to Germany as well.

Through former colleagues, I do know that I would be placed on a watch list by the FBI.  The US Government does not like their citizens to leave.

Looking forward to responses.

Cheers!