Right then,

to get a wee personal here...  I was born in the US, but never really lived there.  I lived in Scotland from age 4 until I went off to uni at 18.  I attended Southwest Texas State, which is now called Texas State.  I joined CID after I graduated and was posted in Germany from 1998 through 2009, when I retired.  I've been here 33 years.  Long time.

I have been giving it thought over the years.  I'm 57 and will most like die here.  I have no family in the US and my children live here as well. 

I could easily contact the VA, DFAS, Tricare, etc., to understand what happens if I became German.  I would need to inquire in written from to have the proper responses written.  But once that door's been opened, there is no turning back.

So, to ask the hive mind:  Does anyone have knowledge in this?  Would I loose my benefits?  I believe I would be able to keep my retire pay, but VA and Tricare?  I don't know.

Reasons:  Well, they are many.  I have to file two income tax returns each year and the US Government gets to take a portion.  I live here and cannot vote.  There are certain things I cannot do so long as I remain a US citizen.  I am definitely not anti-US, so please do not go there.  I had a grand job for 21 years and enjoyed not only serving the US but the friends I made.  Although I feel loyalty to Scotland and the UK, I am and will remain loyal to the US.  Shite, to a degree I owe a wee loyalty to Germany as well.

Through former colleagues, I do know that I would be placed on a watch list by the FBI.  The US Government does not like their citizens to leave.

Looking forward to responses.

Cheers!

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Great question.  You can live outside the US, but Im not sure you want to give up US Citizenship.We have some Vets who get benefits and dont live here.