VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Illinois Va System Sticking It To Me.

Rate this topic

I am a regular Army veteran who was medically discharged in 2003 (after 3 yrs active duty), for L4 - L5 disc ruptures, plantar fascitis (both feet), and elbow tendonitis (no rating). I was given 30% disability for my back and feet and I have been fighting/waiting since 2004 for my rating to go up. I saw a VA neurologist in September 2008 about my ruptured discs (L-4, L-5) (in the last year the pain has caused me to switch to a different job at part-time) After looking over my last MRI and examining my reflexes (knees), he found that my nerves/reflexes had degenerated to the point that my right leg did not respond to the hammer. He told me I needed surgery (laminectomy) to halt the loss of feeling/reflexes in my leg. I received a letter from the Danville (IL) VA fee basis office with a voucher to see a civilian neurosurgeon. I did some homework online, found a great, nationally recognized, neurosurgeon at Rush Hospital in Chicago, and went to my first appointment. The doc told me what the VA neurologist told me and we set a date for surgery. I called the fee basis office and gave them the surgery date, but they told me I had to get approved by my primary care provider before I could schedule a surgery. I had to cancel the surgery and get approval, which my primary dr gave me, and then try to re-schedule the surgery. The neurosurgeon wasn't happy with my cancellation (plus he has a huge client list) and I wasn't able to re-schedule with him. I found a neurosurgeon THREE DOORS AWAY from my VA medical center about six weeks ago and tried to get approval to see this dr. I j