Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Questions About Ptsd C&p

Rate this question

labguy

Question

I am new to the forum and this is my first post so if I ramble I am sorry. I have a C&P exam next week for my PTSD and I am beyond nervous. I have looked at most of the post regarding PTSD but I still have a few questions.

I was assigned to a Forensic Lab as an investigator / case manager for my year in Iraq and needless to say there was a lot of things that have come back to haunt me about that experience. I have been seeking treatment from the VA for about 15 months for PTSD, Depression and Adjustment Disorder. What should I expect the exam to be like? How much weight does my medical file from my VA doc have? I requested copies of my treatment record and progress notes and after reviewing them I know that I have been given a GAF score of 44 from my VA Doc. His notes seem very detailed to me but will any of that matter when I go to the C&P exam? According to my VSO the fact that I worked in Forensics should really help my claim -- Do you guys think he is right about that? He also says that since the C&P exam in through MES Solutions (contractor for the VA) that in his experience they are fairer with exams -- what do you guys think ??

Thanks in advance for the help with this. I am flipping out about this whole thing since I feel comfortable with my doc (he is a vet and a purple heart recipient) since he has been in similar situations. I cannot imagine opening up to a stranger about my demons -- this whole things has got me stressed out and its still a week away.

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question