Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Eligilibity And Effective Date

Rate this question

d1ray

Question

I am a Vietnam Veteran. I was referred to the site by my son-in-law's brother. I got interested in the sight because of the circumstance I find myself in and the volume of forums that address similiar situations. After serving three years on a four year enlistment, I re-enlisted in the waters of Vietnam. For that period of service, I received an Honorable discharge on 26 Jan 73 with a DD-214 showing this. My new enlistment, under the SCORE program started 27 Jan 73. Six months later, I was discharged with an Undesirable (OTH). I have tried many times to get this corrected without success.

The reason for the OTH was drug usage. I was sent to a special court martial where the sentence was 30 days in the brig and a temporary reduction in rank from E-5 to E-4 and a find for six months. Shortly there after, I was again found in possession and this time was given a captain's mass at sea on the way back to the states from the PI. That sentence was 30 days in the brig, another temporary reduction in rank from E-4 to E-3 and fined for another six months. Somewhere along the line, my case went to an administrative discharge review board. I received no legal advice on my rights or procedures. Upon release form the brig we were in home port of Alemeda. I was immediately transferred to TI and discharged 3 weeks later with the Undesirable based on the administrative board.