VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

retroactive back pay

Rate this question

cammack

Question

I first filed a disability claim for congestive heart failure in 2010 and it was deffered. I filed a 20-0995 claim this past August 22, 2022 for congestive heart failure and I was granted 100% rating for this , but retro active pay only went back to August 10, 2022. It should of gone back to 2010.  I am a vietnam veteran boots on the ground 3 miles from dmz in country for 11 months.  I was a navy corpsmen attached to the marines.  My mos was 8404 fleet marines. I was stationed in vietnam in 1967 - 1968  John

6 answers to this question

Ordinarily, I would say file a 10182 and ask the BVA to revue the case for an earlier effective date.(EED)

Considering the backlog at the Board, that might not be such a good idea at this time. In my opinion a better route at this time would be to appeal using the HLR and file it on a 20-0996. Using the HLR you cannot submit additional evidence but you can request a phone call, there you can state your contention about the retro pay and the EED.

If the HLR fails and is denied, then ask for a Board revue using the 20-10182.

Others, such as brokensoldier and broncovet may chime in with differing opinions.

What do you mean by deferred? Deferred are temporary situations , usually where more information is being requested or gathered.

Are you saying it was deferred for something in 2010 and there never was a decision? That shouldn't be, since you filed an 0995 later. A decision would have had to be made prior for an 0995 to be valid. If your claim wasnt  in continuing or appeal status the whole time since 2010 then the effective date of the 0995 is valid.