Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Exposure To Explosions

Rate this question

Jon1371

Question

Greetings all. I have been searching this site for the last couple of months, and just joined.

I was just told by the VA that I can't get screened for TBI because I wasn't in an explosion or in a vehicle hit by an explosion. I got out in 03 right after getting back from Iraq and back then there wasn't any talk of TBI. Heck, I didn't know what TBI was until last month to be honest. I keep getting asked if I was exposed and I always answer yes but nothing happens. After researching TBI I asked my Dr about it and she said I had to hit my head.

I was a 1371 Combat Engineer and helped EOD clear the airfield we took over. Lots of UXO including dud 500 # bombs.

Anyone else close to explosions but not injured(shrapnel) and get TBI?

• HadIt.com Elder

Get a statement from your CO or a buddy statements from the guiys you served with.

The VA is blind and deaf, especially when it cones to looking at evidence. They have a form of TBI also. It is called Headamus Rectamus.

J

I cut all ties when I got back and then out a couple months later. I just joined facebook to see if I can find any of the people I served with. I'm also requesting files and documentation.

As a (Army) Combat Engineer in Iraq in 03, I was exposed to EOD (Air Force) almost every day. Some far away, some closer. And when the enemy blew up the Italian police office in An Hasiriyah it blew the door open on our sea hut and everyone felt the concussion.

That said, I never claimed TBI as I don't think I have one or any, however, I have been screened at least three separate times for it. All negative.

Were you screened for it when you returned? I believe you can be asked to be screened for it. This is separate from a claim for it. But it would be start.

FWIW,

Hamslice