Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Denied- Simple Error I Can Prove Wrong...help With Best Way Forward

Rate this question

burn2learn

Question

Hi All, thanks for any advice!

I have claim for PTSD that was denied. The stressor was not combat related, it happened during the Cold War while I was deployed in a submarine under the artic ice. I gave the VA an approximate date of stressor and was off about 3 months. I was denied only because the submarine was docked at the approximate date I provided in 1991. I have evidence to support the stressor date now in 2/1992. VA acknoleges PTSD just the stressor date is the issue.

I've read about reconsideratiions. But not sure it's a real VA process. I can file NOD...

When denied and you have a simple issue ( improvement on date stressor ).whats the best (fastest) way to get this reviewed? I'm a homeless vet and have that flagged on my claim so it helped a little with speed, but not care or quality. I'm a little disappointed I gave them an approximate date of deployment of 11/1991, and when they pulled my records from the USN they took it as absolute and could not see the deployment in 2//1992.

• HadIt.com Elder

burn2,

If you can scan and attach the reason and basis for your denial & put it here on your post

members on hadit could advise you better!

Please black out your name and sssn and any private information that Identifies you.

...................Buck

• HadIt.com Elder

The VA always finds reason to be denied & yes since you have a denial you can send NOD.

you have a year on the NOD, You can still ask for reconsideration if its whats best....but we need to know what they stated in your denial.

...................Buck

I've read about reconsideratiions. But not sure it's a real VA process. I can file NOD...

You can certainly file for Reconsideration: