Read VA Disability Claims Articles
Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• tbirds-va-claims-struggle (1).png

• 01-2024-stay-online-donate-banner.png

Help With New? Claim

Rate this question

JohnnyBGood

Question

Fogive me if I'm not posting this properly, I'm a newby here.

I am a Vietnam Era Veteran of the Navy. I was injured while in the service, I crushed a disc in my back and I have a fairly bad hearing loss.

At the time that I crushed the disk in my back I went to sick bay and the corpmen refused to send me for further examination or treatment. No x-rays or any doctor was ever seen about this. At this timethere were many servicemen trying to get out of the Navy by feining back injurys.

It wasn't untill about a year later that I was in the naval hospital in San Diego for bleeding ulcers I underwent an upper GI and the radiologist that was reading the xray results questioned me about my " Back injury" but he wouldn't elaborate about what he found. I after that I requested a copy of the radiologist report and had it sent to a civilian doctor so he could tell me what the radiologist found. I was told that he found a badly damaged disc inbetween my T10 &11 vertibrae. At the time this didn't bother me so I just let it slide.

I fullfilled my enlistment and was discharged honorably. no claim was filed... Fast forward to 1990 or so. I was begining to have a bit more problems with my back and I decided to get it checked out by the Doctor , I was told that the T10 & 11 vertibrae were naturally fused together due to the disc disintegrating. Since that time I have had increasing problems with my back. more damaged discs, osteoarthritis,and bone spurs.

In 1995 or so I went in and filed a claim for my back and also for stomach and throat ulcers.

The VA denied this claim saying they could find nothing in my medical records about the back injury or the stomach problems.