VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Advice on Filing a Agent Orange/Prostrate Claim

Rate this question

peakgolf

Question

I am a USMC Vietnam Veteran rated 100% P&T PTSD, 10% Hearing Loss, 10%Tinnitus.....I had  my yearly VA Physical in March of 2018 and found my PSA had risen from 4.1 in 2017 to 6.8, my primary care Dr at the VA  said she was concerned and would get a Referral for me to see a VA Urologist....  2 months went by and no Referral. I contacted my Private Family Dr and he referred me to a Private Urologist who did a biopsy and and was diagnosed with Prostrate Cancer.  Incidentally 4 days after this diagnoses came back I received my long awaited Appointment with the VA Urologist finally came through and I see him next week.

My questions are: 1.  Should I file a Agent Orange/Prostrate Cancer Claim with the VA and risk having my 100% P&T being reduced after my Prostrate Cancer is in remission  or should I go ahead and continue with the Treatment Plan my Private Urologist recommends and keep the VA out of the equation (I have fairly good Private Insurance).  2.  Should I keep my appointment with my VA Urologist and try and get him to Refer me to the Private Dr. who is going to be administering the Radiation Treatment for my Prostrate Cancer so the VA picks up Treatment Cost.....

Thanks in advance for any advice on this matter, Peakgolf

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Maybe Berta will chime in here, BUT it is medical malpractice (1151 claim) when VA fails to diagnose and treat you.  (I beleive it may be called treatment delay.  You were apparently referred for treatment, and "somebody" dropped the ball).