VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Medicare and other insurance

Rate this question

Kingair

Question

Your age?   

This is kind of important.  If you are 65, then you have to decided permanently whether to opt in to part b or not.  

Part b is the part of medicare you have to pay for, its about 134 per month.  It includes doctor visits and doc bills.  

While I dont have tri care, it sound like you are familiar with it, and if its sufficient you probably dont need 3 kinds of insurance.   

Years ago I was an insurance agent and some people would buy 10 different insurance to cover the same thing.  You always knew you would make a sale tho I did not always do so, I told them they had enough.  

My spouse thinks the term "no insurance" is horrifying.  

She learned better.  She bought part b, and a prescription supplement (bad idea).  

So, Champ VA's has a co-pay with each perscription.  Some of these copays are 147 per month!

Well champva has their own med by mail, and its zero copay.   But you can not get it if you have any other (prescription) coverage.  

So, her prescription plan cost us more than 350 per month.  

we cancelled it, at my insistence, and she gets meds by mail.  We saved enough to buy a car by eliminating unnecessary insurance.  

I love how SSA calls me asks me if I want Part B I said no VA covers me for everything since I live. Ten minutes from their hospital and when it’s outsourced using choice it’s paid for so the Va said it’s not needed. Then elect me for B anyways I swear if I don’t check I wouldn’t have noticed. Is their a way to opt out now for B or is permanent I’m only 33?