Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Nod For Eed For Dmii Denied

Rate this question

Papa

Question

I just received notification that my NOD for an EED for DMII was denied. The main reason was that after I was initially denied for DMII, I did not appeal within 1 year. I missed the deadline by a month and a half (does not matter). I then ask them to re-open the claim, and they did and granted me 20%, but made the effective date the date the claim was re-opened 8-28-08. In their denial they are saying that my earliest Dx was May 2006. I honestly thought that when I first put in a claim for DMII, they would test me. Wrong. I'm more upset with myself, but it really gets me that they take over 2 years for something like this. To tell me that I missed a deadline. Yes, I'm a Vietnam Vet. Does or would Nehmer play a role in my case?

Papa

• Answers 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

I think Nehmer would only be a player if you had previously filed a claim and had been denied. The would have had to back up to the date of the original claim.

Keep on researching this. There could be something in there that may help you.

J

Since you never appealed an initial denial for the DMII it might fall under Nehmer.

You could rebutt the EED with the Nehmer regulations but then again I would think possibly you could also file a CUE claim as well on the past denial.

I agree with both jbasser and Philip.

Look over the VCAA letter you originally received too. As well as the past decision.While an error in a VCAA letter is a Duty to Assist error and not a CUE, that might give you some backup for any response or rebuttal you make.

Are you able to scan and post the letter you just got? (Cover name,address C file number etc.)