Read VA Disability Claims Articles
Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• tbirds-va-claims-struggle (1).png

• 01-2024-stay-online-donate-banner.png

VA

Rate this question

OCDMarine

Question

I am a Service connected Vet of the Marine Corps.  20% for Spondylolisthesis L5-S1 and Disk Herniation (loss of forward flexion) 10 Percent for Patellofemoral Left Knee (loss of flexion), Patellofemoral Right Knee (loss of flexion).  November 2015 I submitted a VA claim for increases on these respective disabilities, as well as for Anxiety and Depression as secondary to the chronic pain and loss of function from these Disabilities.  I was diagnosed by my VA Psychiatrist and Private Psychiatrist as having Anxiety (GAD) and Depression Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) Moderate.  Both Psychiatrists reference that the cause of my Aniety and Depression is the Chronic pain I am in, and the stress of not being able to work/provide like I once could.  I have Insomnia, Fatigue, Myalgia, Irritability,trouble concentrating, OCD ritualistic behavior, flat affect racing and unwanted thoughts.......  My VA MD opined that mt Anxiety and Depression is "Most Likely" from my chronic pain syndrome from my military disabilities.  I have worked as a letter carrier for 11 years and have deteriorated mentally and physically.  Do you guys think I have a legitimate claim with the Va for an increase from 40 percent?  Do I have enough to claim Anxiety/Depression??  any help is so appreciated.  Thank you

you know the back is based on either range of motion or prescribed (in writing) bed rest.

i am 40 percent for my back. i have 5 herniated discs, 2 torn discs, a slipped vertabrae, spinal and foraminal stenosis, an abnormal lordatic curve and arthritis. my guess (without knowing your range of motion) that you would stay at 20 percent for your back. my 2 cents.