VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

HISA Grant - Anyone had success?

Rate this question

Tbird

Question

• Founder

My doc said she would put me in for a HISA grant for a walk in tub and a ramp or something for my back steps. I've got lympodema which is causing my legs to swell a lot and my knee is making it hard to get down the steps. I have no experience with this so any thoughts would be great. Currently my washer/dryer are in my basement so my niece does my laundry, but those steps out the back door are just getting tough. If I had the money I would finish the basement put in a bathroom, bedroom and office and move down there and move my niece and family into the upstairs. She takes care of me and it would be great if we could live in the same house. I've got to pay more down on my house before I can sell it. Sorry I digress, so what kind of success have you had with HISA and what should I be aware of.

• Answers 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

Tbird I hadn't had any success but I will tell you what they told me, my doctor and

prosthetic said I would benefit from a stair lift and a walk in tub but I was denied

and didn't push it any farther, but your luck could be better than mines. If you push them 

enough you could get what you need. I just quit with it Good luck

• HadIt.com Elder

Apply today Ms T

How can I apply for a V.A. Home Modification grant?

You apply for an SAH or SHA grant by filling out V.A. Form 26-4555 and submitting it to a V.A. regional office.