VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Need help deciphering this letter for Flat Feet Appeal?

Rate this question

doc25

Question

This is the letter CCK sent for my appeal. Does it suffice to make a strong arguement for a CUE??

CUE.pdf

• HadIt.com Elder

doc25 I am not a CUE expert by any means, but I think the CC&K submittal is very strong. Good luck.

OK, it is early Monday morning and I have not had my drugs but why did CC&K file this claim as a CUE.  If your claim was rated and issued on or around April 23, 2019 and this letter was submitted on April1, 2020 why didn't they just submit a disagreement since it would be a lot easier to win than a CUE claim (within a year time frame of your last denial).  Don't get me wrong you can still win a CUE claim and they would result in the same benefits but a CUE claim has a higher threshold to meet than a simple disagreement.

Sometimes it is best to get service connected then fight for the effective date.

Edited by pacmanx1

The citations are very good .

I would have written this differently however.

It looks to me as if the VA did obtain your SMRs ( that would be listed in the decision's evidence list)

However they violated 38 CFR. 4.6 because it appears they did not even read them , even regarding the past denials.

And I would have filed CUE  in April 2019,  probably a day after I got the decision,.

Hopefully the HLR will do the right thing.

CCK had more info than we have here so , I do think it will help,but I will check the Citations, as soon as I get time.

38 CFR 4.6 covers a multitude of legal errors the VA can make . It is my Favorite regulation.

"§ 4.6 Evaluation of evidence.