VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd And Getting Ready To Retire

Rate this question

IraqwarRN

Question

Hello everyone!

I have been reading comments on this forum and I'm a little concerned about what to expect from the VA. I have been diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder and PTSD related to my service in Iraq. I am an Operating Room nurse but I have been removed from patient care due to my conditions, mainly panic attacks. Am under treatment but have not been able to return to patient care. All of this is documented in my mental health record by my psychiatrist. I will be retiring in less than a year (226 days to be exact). What documentation do I need besides my health record for the VA and how soon do I need to start this process. I'm the primary bread winner for our family and we still have two children at home and a grandson that we are raising. I was hoping for a smooth transition into the VA health system but after reading everyone's stories here that's not looking too good. Does anyone have any advice about how to get through this process without going further over the edge of mental disease?

As a side note, does anyone out there with PTSD have uncontrolable muscle twitches. I'm just wondering if this is just part of the condition/medications or am I just becoming more of a hypochondriac. Thanks in advance for your help.

• Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

IraqRN