Read VA Disability Claims Articles
Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• tbirds-va-claims-struggle (1).png

• 01-2024-stay-online-donate-banner.png

Do You Have The Answer To This Problem?

Rate this question

Wicklander

Question

Hello to everybody. I need some help with a question. Since the VA will not give me any answers on this subject the veterans on the forum is my only hope.

I am a disabled veteran with 30% disability. I am married and have one child. Normally I would receive "extra" compensation because I have dependants. (Wife, child). Easy right?

Here is the problem. My wife and child are Germans, we all live in Germany, and because my wife and child DO NOT have American social security numbers (obviously) I was denied the extra compensation for my dependants. Siting that when I filled out the forms I did not include their SSN'S, (I couldn't, they don't have any!)

I have tried to get the va to understand this but I keep getting the run around. All they do is to fill out form 21-686c. This is the form I originally filled out to include them (but I can't!). They won't even listen to what I am telling them. They will not give me an answer on what I can do to include my wife and child.

Does somebody here have any idea what I can do to include my family?

Thanks.

Mark (wicklander)

• Answers 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Hello to everybody. I need some help with a question. Since the VA will not give me any answers on this subject the veterans on the forum is my only hope.

I am a disabled veteran with 30% disability. I am married and have one child. Normally I would receive "extra" compensation because I have dependants. (Wife, child). Easy right?