VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Do I Qualify

Rate this question

diver

Question

Hello everyone. I am looking at filing for SSDI and I don’t know what I am facing. I have herd lots of nightmares from it. I will be leaving work this month and starting voc rehab. I am unable to continue to do the work that I have been doing for 9 years. I am only 41 and here is my list of service connected problems.

Depression 50%
Lumbar strain 40%
Tinnitus 10%
Right ankle sprain 20%
Left ankle sprain 10%
Left knee instability 10%
Left knee chrondromalacia 10%
Right knee chrondromalacia 10%
Left knee limitation of extention 10%
Right knee limitation of extention 10%

What would be my odds. Again I know nothing about this. I was never planning on this until I have been told by many friends and family to do it.

Thanks for your thoughts and any pointers on how to do it

Diver

Diver,

I am sorry to hear you had to leave your job. Though you are considered "young" by SSA standards, and thus they will see if you can be retrained for a different kind of job, the percentages on the back disability and depression are very relevant for your claim. The back injury would most likely rule out many non-sedentary jobs, and the depression might rule out many sedentary jobs.

You might want to contact a few SSA attorneys and see what they tell you. You might want to contact NOSSCAR http://www.nosscr.org/for referrals. You may call NOSSCR at 1-800-431-2804 during regular Eastern Standard Time business hours.