Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd Cannot Verify Stressor

Rate this question

wifeofvet

Question

Forgive my ignorance here. I'm still learning. My husband is being treated for PTSD/Depression thru VA psychiatrist. He is on SSDI for anxiety disorder. But I'm afraid he cannot prove his stressor. He doesn't have any combat medals or ribbons. He did serve in a combat zone. We did manage to get a newspaper article on the supposed attack (the stressor) and a buddy letter but I'm told that it's not good enough. I realize now that we should have put in a claim for Depression the same time we put in for PTSD. Can he put in another claim for PTSD and Depression or put in a new claim for depression? We haven't gotten a response on the PTSD claim yet but without a stressor, we are not looking at an approval. What sort of evidence would we need for a depression claim?

• Answers 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

You can amend your claim at any time. If your husband was in a combat zone and you have the news paper article of the attack, I would let it be.

• HadIt.com Elder

Who told you that's not good enough? That should be enough, provided he was there. Sharon's correct.

pr